Life Lost

My dear Cecil,

You should not have died like that.
You should have been roaming free
until old age
and gravity
bound you to the earth
never to roam again.

I did not know you.
I did not know your name,
or your status,
but I was still angered
by your killing.

And then I thought:

Why is it so much easier
to feel anger and disgust
at the murder of a lion
by a narcissistic dentist –

than by the countless murders
of PEOPLE OF COLOR
by state sanctioned violence?

That lion was served on a gilded platter,
but I don’t think the dentist ate him (I hope?).

(Insert name here) was not literally eaten
when (insert possessive pronoun here) body crumpled
under the weight of racism.

But both stories are consumed.
One ravenously,
(all at the table agree this lion meat is unjust,
as they grind it to paste in their clenching jowels)
and one as a post dinner mint
(eh. I guess I’ll take one for the drive home).

Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

