Search for Silence

I search for silence.

Where the hell is it?

It’s definitely not out here,

in the open outdoor space

of the courtyard

in the shadow of Tall Buildings.

For here I hear such noise!

The whir of whatever it is

that keeps an urban hospital going

(such power required).

And that woman yelling at the deaf man

in his open hospital gown

screeching, “LOOK AT THE TREES! THE TREES! THEY’RE BLOOMING! AREN’T THEY PRETTY?”

Well they were, ma’am. They certainly were.

Where is the silence I crave?

I search within

that old inner space

my dusty attic dwelling

where I go to be alone

and quiet

with nothing

but the noise of sunshine

and dust motes

swirling in the symphony.

Leave a Reply

