Grateful Day 5

Today’s three things I’m thankful for:

1) Advil Cold and Sinus. Woke up this morning with a head full of snot and leaking facial orifices. For those of you really interested, my snot is green, and I don’t think that’s a very normal color for snot. If it weren’t for this miracle pill, I would not be at work today. I still can’t hear well, so my “solo piano” Pandora station is perhaps a touch too loud, but I’m alone in the office today, so I’m cool with it.

2) Family-in-law. I married into an incredible family! They are kind and generous and affectionate. They make me feel loved and included. They offer support when Stephan and I feel like we might be drowning as we try to figure out weird adult marriage stuff that we’ve never had to worry about, like combined debt, and taxes, and refinancing. BLARG. I’m glad we have them to help us figure it all out.

3) Beautiful weather in January. Yesterday was mid-fifties and gorgeous. Stephan and I went for a walk around the neighborhood with the dogs, who desperately needed exercise (and to be fair, so did we). To breathe in clean air, and to stretch our winter-logged legs, and to hold hands as we navigated the hills together was a beautiful taste of kingdom life.

A good memory from the past 24 hours comes from this morning’s pillow talk as I snuggled ever closer to S for warmth in my daily attempt to stay in bed forever. I leaned into him and said, “I want to get married again.” He replied, “Why on earth do you want to do that?” And I said, “Because I just love you so much and I can’t think of how else to express it to you but to marry you again!” And he said the following: “Shelby, you are the most beautiful and amazing woman in the world. You are so smart, and funny, and compassionate, and kind and I love you more than anyone. You are my favorite. Even when you are dibbling me, you’re my favorite. Even when I’m mad at you, you are my favorite. And I say this with love, but get out of bed.”

I want to cherish that speech for the rest of my life.

On a related side-note, Stephan discovered that I have clinomania, or an obsession with bedrest. It’s a real thing. It’s in the dictionary. So in addition to my misophonia, I now have clinomania. The list of my weird (but charming?) character flaws grows ever longer.

Happy Sunday.

Leave a Reply

