Vegetarian Saga – Days 1 & 2

Image

It has begun.

I can officially call myself a vegetarian.

I know I’ve tried this before (oh, how I’ve tried!). I’ve experimented with the term pescatarian, but it just wasn’t working for me. I’ve argued myself into thinking giving up beef and pork would be enough to satisfy my growing social and environmental awareness while I could still have the occasional chicken biscuit. But then I’d eat a bratwurst and feel guilty for a week. And I’ve tried the term “part-time” vegetarian, because, really, that’s what I’ve been since February. I maintain my vegetarianism for a few days here and there and then, when it becomes convenient to not do so, I quit.

But no more.

When I sat down to write this 25 list in January, I thought eating an all vegetarian diet for one month would be the easiest thing to accomplish. It’s basically what I did when I lived in France, and I don’t eat a lot of meat anyway, so I didn’t think it would be a big challenge. But me eating “not a lot” of meat still equals me eating meat much more often than I am comfortable with.

It’s everywhere. My partner S eats it for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and all the snack-times in between. His roommates cook bacon every morning. It’s in all the things I want to order at restaurants. It’s in everyone’s soup, sandwich, or salad at lunch time. No matter how hard I try to resist, I can’t get away!

It’s not even so much the craving as it is the convenience. If I’m running late for class, but haven’t eaten all day, I want to stop and get something hot quick. It’s virtually impossible to find something vegetarian fast. I have to plan ahead. If there is one thing I’ve learned over the many months of trial and error, it’s that the attempt to eat the way I feel morally and socially obligated to eat is going to take careful planning and sacrifice on my part.

So, partly to fulfill my “25” requirement and partly to satisfy that internal self-bettering urge, I have decided that October is my vegetarian month.

For 31 solid days, I will be a vegetarian. This means no poultry, beef, pork, or seafood. It will be hard, but with the support of my friends and family, and you as well, my readers (the 2 of you out there), I believe I can do this!

Another post will be dedicated to why I feel the need to take this journey, but for now, let me just say it is 11:34 on Wednesday, October 2nd, and I have been meat-free for 28 hours.

Grace and Peace to you this day.

5 thoughts on “Vegetarian Saga – Days 1 & 2

  1. By becoming vegetarian I assume you no longer eat eggs/cheese either? Oh my. You will have to send me recipes on how to prepare family holiday meals!

    1. I still eat eggs and cheese! I am not vegan (yet)! Vegans don’t eat any meat or any animal bi-products (dairy, honey, eggs, etc.), but vegetarians just stay away from the meat.

Leave a Reply

